Schertle Given ‘Manos’ Award; Eight Enter MRA Hall Of Fame

Print Friendly

Kurt Schertle, COO of Sunbury, PA based Weis Markets, has been named the “Pete Manos Retail Executive of the Year,” the publishers of Food World and Food Trade News announced November 8 at the Maryland Retailers Association’s annual Hall of Fame Breakfast in Baltimore, MD.

The award was first presented to Pete Manos in 1999 and was subsequently named after him. Manos, the former chairman and CEO of Giant Food Inc., received the award upon his retirement from the Landover, MD chain where he spent 39 years. The award is now given to a food industry executive annually, in recognition of distinguished industry service, leadership and community involvement.

Previous winners include: Danny Wegman, Wegmans; the late Robert Weis, Weis Markets; Carl Schlicker, Ahold USA; Fred Morganthall, Harris Teeter; Jeff Brown, Brown’s ShopRites; Bill White, Shoppers; Bobby Ukrop, Ukrop’s; Ron Dennis, Farm Fresh; Benjy Green, B. Green; Jim Perkins, Albertsons; and Jim McCaffrey III, McCaffrey’s Markets.

As COO, Schertle is largely responsible for an impressive run of increased sales at the 204-store regional chain. (Weis just posted its 14th consecutive quarter of comparable store sales increases.) He, CEO Jonathan Weis and the more than 22,000 Weis associates were also responsible for the successful transition of 44 new stores into Weis’ fleet last year. In accepting the award, Schertle made a point of noting that he was accepting the award on behalf of the entire Weis Markets team.